MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall Portsmouth on Tuesday, 13 October 2015 at 2.00 pm

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Frank Jonas (in the Chair)

Councillors

Dave Ashmore Ian Lyon Hugh Mason Simon Bosher Jennie Brent Lee Mason Gemma New Ryan Brent Yahiya Chowdhury Robert New Alicia Denny Stuart Potter Ben Dowling **Darren Sanders** John Ferrett Phil Smith Ken Ferrett Lynn Stagg **David Fuller** Sandra Stockdale Colin Galloway Luke Stubbs Paul Godier Julie Swan Aiden Gray Linda Symes **Scott Harris David Tompkins** Gerald Vernon-Jackson Stephen Hastings Hannah Hockaday Steve Wemvss

Hannah Hockaday Steve Wemyss
Suzy Horton Matthew Winnington

Lee Hunt Rob Wood
Donna Jones Neill Young

69. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillor Ken Ellcome, Councillor Will Purvis and Councillor Margaret Foster. Councillor Chowdhury sent apologies for lateness.

70. Deputations from the Public under Standing Order 24

The City Solicitor advised that there were no deputations in respect of agenda item 2.

71. Granting of the Freedom of the City to Honorary Alderman Syd Rapson BEM ISM

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to grant the freedom of the city to Alderman Syd Rapson will need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members present and voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor John Ferrett Seconded by Councillor Donna Jones

That the freedom of the city of Portsmouth be formally granted to Honorary Alderman Syd N J Rapson BEM ISM.

RESOLVED unanimously that

- (i) In the light of the provisions of section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, considered a proposal to grant the title of Freedom of the City;
- The City Council wished to declare formally its further (ii) appreciation of Honorary Alderman Syd N J Rapson BEM ISM for his achievements and that he be formally granted the Freedom of the City of Portsmouth; and
- This resolution be engrossed and sealed with the common seal (iii) for presentation at a future meeting.

The Lord Mayor invited Honorary Alderman Syd Rapson to respond which he then did thanking members of the city council for conferring this honour upon him.

The meeting concluded at 2.10 pm.	
Lord Mayor	